Anarres 2 cooperative community

April 19, 2013

Land search update

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ed @ 8:12 am

I’ll be traveling to the U.S. in May for my daughter’s college graduation, and will look at some land in northern Nevada on the way. I was planning to look at another piece of land near Trinidad, Washington, but I’m thinking about visiting Nicaragua first. Nicaragua has a functioning democracy (but according to critics, the recently re-elected Sandinista government should be called the “Ortegista” government, because many of the original Sandinistas have been expelled or left as president Daniel Ortega has consolidated his power). I would still have a language barrier, but I DID take some Spanish in junior high school, and it IS a Romance language, so it is not as totally incomprehensible to me as non-European languages. I’ve been doing a little research, and living in the mountainous region northeast of Managua might not be too bad…. And a cooperative community would probably not be considered subversive. I’m toying with the idea of taking a bus or buying a used motorcycle and traveling there by road, so I can see Mexico and some other countries in Central America on the way. If anyone wants to tag along, I’d be a lot more comfortable than I would be going overland alone. I’d be leaving Texas in early June (after a side trip to Kansas).

It sounds as if there were some irregularities during the last national election in Nicaragua though, not to mention Ortega winning a third (thus unconstitutional) term as president:

Nicaragua election observers report problems

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/story/2011/11/06/nicaragua-ortega-elections.html

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

