Anarres 2 cooperative community

April 27, 2017

A visit in August 2017?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ed @ 9:22 am

I’m trying to decide whether or not to make my annual pilgrimage to Anarres Two this year. It’s expensive, but I get to see my family. August is hot, very hot, but it’s dry and the nights are cool, and it’s not a very busy time for me. I hate spending my “vacation” sitting in coffee shops editing research papers and wondering if I’m going to get kicked out for overstaying my welcome. So far I have bought a lot of drinks and that hasn’t happened.

Burning Man is going to run from August 27 to September 4th, so that is probably a time to avoid, although that happens some distance from Imlay. I thought about having an alternative, free gathering, where people run around in sparkly underwear and plant trees instead of burning things, but I’m getting a little old for that.

There was enough rain this year (I see there is a flood warning for the Humboldt River over the next few days!) that I could probably skip my visit and my trees would survive. I don’t have any major projects to do, unless I decide to try to buy more land (and put myself at financial risk).

I usually use my mom’s second car when I’m in the U.S., but my brother is getting out of prison soon and he is probably going to be using it, which means renting a van, which is expensive.

Not to mention that I hate flying through China to get an affordable ticket, and then being “extremely vetted” at the U.S. border, or worse while I’m visiting, since Trump has let law enforcement off the leash.

I’ll let you know as soon as I make up my mind….

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

