Anarres 2 cooperative community

August 3, 2013

Gimme shelter!

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ed @ 11:22 pm

I’ve been working on building a multipurpose outbuilding which could be used for storage and as a shower/toilet area (but which can’t be lived in due to county regulations – I’m assuming that taking shelter inside it during a storm would not be considered “living” in it). It’s early August, but it’s getting down in the low 50’s at night here, and it’s often windy, so those outdoor showers are getting cold. And dusty. I’ve spent the last six days digging out a foundation for the concrete floor, a much bigger project than I expected, but I’ve been harvesting the gravel for the foundation. I considered putting in a metal storage building, but the wind can be intense, so my plan is to build it out of concrete partition blocks. It will be cylindrical (like a very squat grain silo) and about 133 sq. ft. We’ll see how far I get with it this year before I have to go. The trees are windblown but still alive. One neighbor is letting me have water for them, which I collect in empty plastic jugs. Another offered to let me take water from his well. And another couple offered to let me sleep in their guest house. Nice folks! The neighbor with the well said he hit good water at about 260 ft., which is fairly deep but not outrageous. Another neighbor told him the water table has never fallen in his well, even during the recent drought. He told me his well was expensive, but I was afraid to ask how much. One guy quoted me $50 a foot, which would be $13,000, more than I paid for the land! That probably doesn’t include the pump either. On the bright side, there is unlimited solar and wind energy just waiting to be harvested. I think a DC system with batteries would be cheaper than converting power to AC with an inverter, but so far I’m getting by fine without power. A fridge would be nice though. Some day! Eventually the plan would be to build a real building, and if we do agriculture we can also have additional outbuildings, such as a bunkhouse for the “farm workers”, which would be us, the owner/members of the cooperative.

Pouring the concrete floor for the outbuilding. That’s me in the blue shirt:

20130815_151931_resized

2 Comments »

  1. Wow Ed you are actually doing it. Good show! Looks pretty desolate out there, very dry, I know it is going to be a lot of work, this is how I started 30 years ago, the trade off is; what you can’t pay for you can do yourself, except it gets hard with stuff you have to contract out like the well.

    Comment by dimar6 — August 8, 2013 @ 7:13 pm

  2. Thanks Dick! I seriously considered coming up to Argenta, but I finally decided to buy land in northern Nevada. Yeah, the well has to be done by a NV licensed driller, and they aren’t cheap. But I’m going to try to do the outbuilding myself. It’s going slowly though. If you’re ever in San Francisco, it’s only a 7 hour or so train ride away.

    Comment by Ed — August 8, 2013 @ 7:48 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

