Anarres 2 cooperative community

May 27, 2013

Back in the U.S.

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ed @ 10:01 pm

Well, I’ve been to my daughter’s college graduation, and now I’m hanging out with my mom in Bullhead City, AZ trying to decide my next move. I stopped off on the way to the graduation to see the 20 acre lot near Imlay, Nevada, but was on the wrong road and couldn’t find it. But the area was nice and the view of the mountains was great. I saw an elk (and a rattlesnake).  The lot I’m looking at is zoned AMR (Agriculture, Mining, Recreation) so what you can build on it is very limited, and we would have to basically live in tents and moveable, yurt-like structures, which works for me, but might not appeal to most people. We could have one permanent house or mobile home structure on the lot.

My first task is to buy some wheels, though. So far I’ve flown, rented cars, taken Amtrak, and ridden on a Mexican bus. I’m weighing buying a used Honda motorcycle, a new Ural motorcycle, or a new Jeep Patriot (expensive, but I’d probably sell it when I leave). Used trucks and SUVs are ridiculously expensive unless they have huge numbers of miles on them. If I bought a motorcycle, I’d rent a truck as needed.

I’m going to Los Algodones, Mexico on Wednesday (near Yuma) to buy some bifocals. My first trip to “Mexico” (it’s not a typical city, caters to American medical tourists), so it should be interesting.

Nicaragua is a bit far away…..

UPDATE:  Now my mom is thinking about buying a new car, so I may get/get to use her 2002 Subaru Forester, which would be awesome!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

